Tuesday, March 23, 2010

3/23/2010: Crew Part Ways With First Round Pick Bright Dike, Go With Fourth Rounder Othaniel Yanez Instead

The Columbus Crew selected Bright Dike and Dilly Duka in the first round of the Superdraft this season. Their second selection in the first round, Bright Dike, has been cut and a fourth rounder Othaniel Yanez instead picks up the last Crew roster spot; as Warzycha's first round gamble with Dike apparently did not work out as planned. Dike was apparently a wasted draft selection by Warzycha and company with a lot of other options on the table. Warzycha will likely take a little flak for it but with how the team has looked against Toluca and how they're shaping up as an even better looking outfit compared to the 2008 and 2009 squads, most will not quip over it.

So, welcome to Yanez, hopefully he has something to offer that Dike as well as Elenio and Grendi (both were cut as well today) did not have to offer.

Crew opening day roster

GK: William Hesmer, Andy Gruenebaum (injured reserve), Kenny Schoeni

D: Frankie Hejduk, Chad Marshall, Andy Iro, Eric Brunner, Gino Padula, Jed Zayner, Shaun Francis, Danny O'Rourke

MF: Brian Carroll, Adam Moffat, Robbie Rogers, Eddie Gaven, Kevin Burns, Emmanuel Ekpo, Othaniel Yanez, Duncan Oughton, Dilaver Duka

F: Guillermo Barros Schelotto, Sergio Herrera, Emilio Renteria, Jason Garey, Steven Lenhart


Post a Comment